Blessures en crosse - Traitement, gestion et prévention

Un joueur de crosse en action

La crosse est l'un des sports d'école secondaire qui connaît la croissance la plus rapide en Amérique du Nord. Cependant, les blessures liées à la crosse sont un facteur constant dans ce sport de contact, et certaines d'entre elles peuvent être très graves. Les blessures les plus fréquemment associées à ce sport sont les suivantes :

  • Contusions à la tête et au visage, dues à un coup porté par une balle de crosse ou par l'équipement d'un autre joueur ;
  • La commotion cérébrale, qui (même si les joueurs portent des casques) est probablement la plus grave des blessures que peut subir un joueur de crosse. Elle peut également résulter d'un coup porté par la balle, par l'équipement d'un autre joueur ou par un élément de l'arène ;
  • Entorses de la cheville et du genou, en particulier des ligaments croisés antérieur et médial ;
  • Les attelles tibiales, dues à la course intensive que doivent effectuer les joueurs de crosse ;
  • Fractures du poignet;
  • Fléchisseur de la hanche;
  • Douleur lombaire.

Prévention des blessures liées à la crosse

Comme pour la plupart des sports ou des activités récréatives, le risque de subir des blessures courantes à la crosse peut être réduit par un entraînement, une préparation et une technique appropriés. Le conditionnement hors saison pour rester en forme et les exercices d'avant-saison sont des éléments importants d'un programme de prévention des blessures, qu'il ne faut pas négliger. Ils ne doivent pas être négligés.

Les joueurs doivent également veiller à porter l'équipement de protection approprié, notamment des casques, des protections pour les bras et les côtes, des supports athlétiques avec des bonnets de protection, des protections pour la gorge et la poitrine et des protège-dents.

Si un joueur subit une blessure liée à la crosse, il ou elle peut toutefois porter une variété de supports pour faciliter son rétablissement. En outre, les joueurs qui ont besoin d'un soutien supplémentaire pendant la compétition ou l'entraînement pour des articulations faibles ou précédemment blessées bénéficieront de l'application d'une bande de cerclage rigide sur la zone à protéger. Enfin, la bande kinésiologique peut être une aide précieuse pour favoriser la récupération des muscles endoloris et des lésions dues au stress répétitif en général.

Utiliser la bande adhésive pour traiter les blessures de la crosse

La bande adhésive peut apporter stabilité et soutien à des genoux ou des chevilles faibles, instables ou précédemment blessés. Bien que les supports orthopédiques permettent également d'atteindre cet objectif, vous pouvez porter des bandes adhésives pendant l'entraînement ou la pratique sans interférer avec la mobilité ou l'amplitude des mouvements. Les blessures telles que les entorses du genou ou de la cheville, ou d'autres blessures des tissus mous (en particulier les blessures dues à la surutilisation) sont probablement les plus faciles à traiter avec cette approche. Nous vous suggérons de traiter les blessures aiguës telles que les contusions à l'aide d'autres approches telles que les compresses chaudes ou froides.

Il existe de nombreux types de bandes adhésives adaptées aux blessures de crosse dans différentes circonstances. Une bande élastique légère comme celle présentée ci-dessous est utile pour les articulations ne nécessitant qu'un soutien modéré. Elle peut également servir de support supplémentaire pour les articulations qui ont déjà été recouvertes d'une bande adhésive à l'oxyde de zinc, comme la Renfrew Professional Trainers Tape. Enfin, une bande élastique lourde telle que la bande Stretch M de Mueller Sports Medicine peut être utilisée pour les articulations nécessitant le soutien le plus solide.

Pour une mobilité maximale si vous avez l'intention de porter la bande pendant les matchs ou les entraînements, une bande élastique légère est le meilleur choix pour l'activité de la crosse. Il s'adaptera également mieux aux zones à fort relief telles que les genoux ou les chevilles.

Si vous avez l'intention de porter du ruban adhésif pour les matchs de crosse mais aussi pour vos activités non liées à la crosse, vous devriez envisager d'utiliser un ruban sans latex et/ou hypoallergénique. Ce type de ruban réduira le risque de réactions médicales résultant d'un contact à long terme avec votre peau. L'amélioration du confort de port et l'absence d'inquiétude vous permettront de continuer à porter la bande pendant de longues périodes. Les perspectives de guérison s'en trouveront améliorées.

Produits de ruban adhésif suggérés pour les blessures de crosse

Adhésifs élastiques

Adhésifs non élastiques

Rubans adhésifs

Comment les supporters sportifs peuvent-ils aider à traiter les blessures de crosse ?

Les chaussures de sport sont des accessoires précieux pour la protection contre les blessures de la région pelvienne, en particulier lorsqu'elles sont équipées d'une coquille de protection. Le gobelet peut être fourni avec le support ou le support peut simplement être muni d'une pochette pour en contenir un. Les balles de crosse peuvent atteindre des vitesses supérieures à 100 mph et le résultat d'un coup porté à la région pelvienne peut être extrêmement douloureux et débilitant. Dans certains cas, les conséquences des blessures qui en résultent peuvent être de longue durée ou permanentes. Elles peuvent certainement vous priver du reste du match et même des matchs à venir. Pour éviter cette éventualité, il est conseillé d'investir dans une protection pelvienne telle qu'un support athlétique pour les matchs de crosse ou les entraînements.

Le support athlétique que vous utilisez pour les matchs de crosse doit être doté d'une poche pour accueillir le bonnet de protection. Il doit également comporter deux bandes élastiques qui entourent vos jambes. Si vous n'aimez pas porter un support athlétique pour maintenir le bonnet, vous pouvez envisager de porter une paire de shorts de compression à la place. 

Choix d'un gobelet de protection

Pour utiliser le bonnet de protection, il suffit de l'insérer dans le support athlétique porté pour la crosse. Pour une protection maximale, il est important de choisir la bonne taille de bonnet. Si le bonnet est trop petit, il peut laisser une partie de la région pelvienne exposée à un coup de crosse. En revanche, s'il est trop grand, le bonnet sera inconfortable et pourra limiter vos mouvements pendant le jeu. Vous pouvez généralement déterminer la taille de bonnet appropriée à partir de votre tour de taille. Il existe 4 catégories de tailles de bonnets : pee wee, jeune, adolescent et adulte. Un adulte de petite taille peut parfois se sentir plus à l'aise avec un bonnet d'adolescent qu'avec un bonnet d'adulte. Le port d'un bonnet de taille appropriée à l'intérieur de votre pantalon de sport pour les matchs ou les entraînements de crosse est un investissement qui en vaut la peine en termes de douleur et de dépenses qu'il peut vous épargner.

Supports athlétiques suggérés pour le traitement des blessures de la crosse

Comment une orthèse dorsale peut-elle être utile dans le traitement d'une blessure de crosse ?

Les orthèses dorsales permettent d'atténuer les douleurs dorsales fréquemment rencontrées par les athlètes dans ce sport. Dans la crosse, la lombalgie est généralement une blessure de surmenage qui résulte de la course prolongée pendant un match et de la rotation de la colonne lombaire. Elle peut également résulter de collisions entre les joueurs. Le choix de la bonne orthèse dorsale pour la lombalgie est essentiel pour obtenir des résultats favorables.

Comme pour d'autres types d'orthèses, plus vous la portez longtemps, plus vous avez de chances de vous rétablir complètement. En particulier, si vous pouvez trouver une orthèse dorsale que vous pouvez porter en jouant à la crosse, elle contribuera à soulager la pression sur votre colonne vertébrale au moment où vous en avez le plus besoin. Une orthèse dorsale discrète qui peut facilement se glisser sous votre uniforme de crosse est donc un bon choix.

Un autre facteur à prendre en compte dans le choix d'une bonne orthèse dorsale pour jouer à la crosse est la respirabilité. Une orthèse fabriquée dans un matériau respirant évacuera la transpiration et l'humidité de votre corps. Vous vous sentirez au frais, au sec et à l'aise sous l'orthèse et pourrez vous concentrer sur votre jeu de crosse.

Certaines orthèses dorsales utilisent une technologie qui leur permet d'adhérer plus étroitement à votre peau en réaction à la transpiration ou à d'autres formes d'humidité. Une orthèse dorsale dotée de cette caractéristique restera dans la position prévue, même lorsque vous jouez à la crosse et que vous vous élancez, sautez et sprintez. La peau Bio Skin Back Skin, avec sa technologie SkinLok, est un bon exemple de ce type d'orthèse.

Proposition d'orthèses dorsales

Pourquoi utiliser des supports pour les mollets, les cuisses et les tibias pour traiter les blessures dues à la crosse ?

Les supports pour mollets/cuisses/tibias peuvent avoir de nombreuses fonctions pour les joueurs de crosse. Cependant, les supports tibiaux seront particulièrement utiles pour traiter la douleur et l'inconfort des attelles tibiales. Cette affection résulte de la course intensive que les joueurs de crosse doivent effectuer pendant un match. Cette course entraîne la séparation du muscle tibial postérieur de l'arrière du tibia. Lorsque cela se produit plus rapidement que le corps ne peut se réparer, une périostite tibiale apparaît. Il s'agit d'une affection très douloureuse en soi, mais si vous l'ignorez, elle peut entraîner des blessures encore plus graves, telles qu'une fracture de stress ou même une fracture complète.

Lorsque vous recherchez des protège-tibias pour traiter les blessures liées à la crosse, vous devez essayer d'en trouver un qui offre une compression de niveau médical ou proche de celui-ci. Les attelles de tibia Bio Skin sont particulièrement efficaces dans ce domaine et devraient être envisagées. La compression favorise la circulation sanguine dans la zone concernée. Ce sang frais apporte de l'oxygène et d'autres nutriments, ce qui améliore la vitesse de progression vers une guérison complète.

La respirabilité est une autre caractéristique qui contribue à faire un bon protège-tibia pour un joueur de crosse. Cela garantit que votre transpiration ne s'accumulera pas sous le support et ne créera pas d'inconfort. Au contraire, elle migre à travers le support et s'évapore à l'extérieur, ce qui vous permet de rester au sec et à l'aise. Il vous sera plus facile de porter ce type de protège-tibia plus longtemps, ce qui améliorera votre progression vers la guérison.

Un bon protège-tibia sera également suffisamment discret pour que vous puissiez le porter pendant que vous jouez à la crosse sans qu'il interfère avec votre mobilité ou d'autres aspects de votre jeu.

Supports suggérés pour les mollets, les cuisses et les tibias

Comment utiliser les supports de hanche/genou pour traiter vos blessures de crosse

La crosse est un sport rapide qui exige de ses joueurs de fréquents changements de direction et de vitesse. Ces manœuvres sollicitent fortement les muscles de la hanche et de l'aine des joueurs. Des blessures telles que des élongations de l'aine ou des muscles fléchisseurs de la hanche peuvent survenir et, lorsqu'elles surviennent, la seule façon de s'en remettre est de permettre aux structures endommagées de se reposer et de guérir. Les supports de hanche et d'aine portés par les joueurs de crosse stabiliseront les muscles, les tendons et les ligaments dans ces zones et favoriseront le processus de guérison.

Les élongations des fléchisseurs de la hanche sont particulièrement fréquentes dans le sport de la crosse. Il s'agit d'une blessure de surutilisation qui peut résulter de la course intensive et des pivotements parfois maladroits qui font partie intégrante de la pratique de la crosse. Les élongations de l'aine sont une autre catégorie de blessures qui peuvent résulter de la course, des arrêts, des torsions et des rotations fréquents qui font partie intégrante du sport de la crosse. D'autres blessures dans les mêmes zones ou dans des zones adjacentes peuvent affecter les joueurs de crosse, mais les élongations du fléchisseur de la hanche et de l'aine sont parmi les plus courantes. Ces deux types de blessures peuvent être traités en portant des supports de hanche ou d'aine qui peuvent soulager la pression sur les ligaments et les muscles blessés et leur permettre de se reposer.

Les deux principales catégories de supports à la disposition des joueurs de crosse pour traiter les blessures de hanche et d'aine sont les shorts de compression et les enveloppes d'aine. Les shorts de compression peuvent être portés pendant un match de crosse et sont donc capables de fournir un soutien au moment où il est peut-être le plus nécessaire. Cependant, les enveloppes de l'aine sont capables de fournir une compression plus ciblée sur des zones spécifiques. Une autre raison d'utiliser des shorts de compression pendant les matchs de crosse réside dans leur capacité à accueillir une coque de protection couvrant la zone de l'aine.

Soutiens suggérés pour les hanches et les genoux

Ruban kinésiologique et blessures à la crosse

Un match de crosse nécessite de nombreuses courses et changements de vitesse, ainsi que de fréquents tours et détours pour suivre le rythme du jeu. Au fil du temps, ces mouvements peuvent entraîner des lésions dues au stress répétitif, même chez les joueurs les plus en forme. Les joueurs de crosse peuvent souffrir d'un certain nombre de blessures aiguës telles que les entorses de la cheville et du genou et les élongations des muscles fléchisseurs de la hanche. Ils peuvent également souffrir de blessures de surutilisation qui peuvent entraîner des problèmes de douleurs dorsales. L'utilisation correcte de la bande k par les joueurs de crosse peut les aider à se remettre plus rapidement de leurs blessures. La bande kinésiologique aidera à soulever la peau sur les muscles et les ligaments blessés et permettra au sang et aux fluides lymphatiques de circuler plus facilement dans la région.

Le principal avantage pour un joueur de crosse de porter une bande kinésiologique pour traiter ses blessures réside probablement dans le fait que ce type de bande est fondamentalement différent de la bande adhésive traditionnelle. La bande traditionnelle vise à stabiliser les muscles et les articulations pour leur permettre de se reposer. Cela peut, dans certains cas, entraîner des restrictions de mouvement, d'amplitude de mouvement, etc. Le ruban kinésiologique, quant à lui, s'appuie sur le fait que vos articulations continuent à bouger selon une amplitude de mouvement complète et naturelle. Il utilise ces mouvements pour effectuer l'action de levage mentionnée ci-dessus, qui fait partie intégrante de son effet curatif.

Comment utiliser la bande kinésiologique

Pour tirer le meilleur parti de l'utilisation du ruban kinésiologique dans le traitement des blessures liées à la crosse, voici quelques points à retenir :

  • Vous devez nettoyer et sécher soigneusement la zone sur laquelle vous avez l'intention d'appliquer le ruban. Cela l'aidera à obtenir le degré d'adhérence requis sur votre peau.
  • Veillez à ce qu'il n'y ait pas d'huile ou de crème sur la zone de la peau sur laquelle vous allez appliquer le ruban.
  • Appliquez la bande kinésiologique environ une heure avant le début du match ou de l'entraînement de crosse. Cela permettra également à la bande d'obtenir le degré d'adhérence requis.

Suggestions de bandes kinésiologiques

Utiliser une genouillère pour soigner les blessures dues à la crosse

Pour un joueur de crosse, une genouillère peut aider à atténuer les symptômes des blessures au genou telles que les déchiruresou les entorses du ligament collatéral médial ou du ligament croisé antérieur (LCA). Ces blessures sont fréquentes dans la crosse en raison de la nature rapide du sport et des changements brusques de vitesse de course et de direction qu'il exige des joueurs. L'instabilité du genou qui peut résulter des déchirures du LMC ou du LCA peut menacer la carrière d'un joueur s'il ne s'en occupe pas correctement. Le repos des ligaments endommagés est un élément essentiel de la stratégie de traitement. Le port d'une genouillère bien conçue est un excellent moyen de réduire la pression exercée sur ces ligaments et de leur donner une chance de se rétablir.

Choisir une genouillère

Pour une efficacité maximale, l'orthèse de genou choisie par un joueur de crosse souffrant de lésions du LCA/LCM doit pouvoir être portée pendant la plus grande partie possible de la journée. Si le joueur peut la porter pendant les matchs ou les entraînements de crosse, elle apportera un soutien au genou au moment où il en a le plus besoin. Une genouillère portable pour la crosse doit être une orthèse à profil bas (légère et fine) qui interfère le moins possible avec les mouvements du joueur et l'amplitude des mouvements de l'articulation.

Une genouillère respirante est également un bon choix pour un joueur de crosse. La nature athlétique et rigoureuse de ce sport signifie que le joueur est susceptible de transpirer abondamment pendant qu'il joue. Dans ce cas, la genouillère doit idéalement permettre à la transpiration de s'éloigner de la peau du joueur et de le laisser au frais et au sec.

Une autre caractéristique souhaitable d'une genouillère pour un joueur de crosse serait une sorte de protection anti-microbienne ou anti-bactérienne. Cela permettra au joueur d'utiliser la genouillère pendant une période prolongée sans avoir à la jeter en raison d'odeurs désagréables ou de taches disgracieuses.

Quelques genouillères à considérer

Attelles de poignet pour les blessures de crosse

Les blessures à la main et au poignet sont devenues un problème croissant dans le sport de la crosse. Les scénarios à l'origine de ces blessures comprennent un coup de crosse d'un joueur adverse. Un deuxième scénario possible est une tentative d'amortir une chute, ce qui conduit à plier le poignet dans un angle gênant. Un autre scénario encore est celui d'un coup direct de la balle sur le bout du pouce du gardien de but. Ces incidents peuvent provoquer des lésions aiguës telles que des fractures osseuses qui ne peuvent généralement pas être traitées à l'aide d'une attelle de poignet. Toutefois, certains des problèmes de poignet qui en résultent peuvent être des lésions des tissus mous. La guérison de ces blessures nécessite généralement une période de repos pour les tissus mous endommagés de la main ou du poignet. Dans ces cas, le port d'une attelle de poignet peut faire partie du traitement d'un joueur de crosse pour des blessures à la main ou au poignet.

Comme nous l'avons noté ci-dessus, les blessures au poignet liées à la crosse peuvent être très graves et peuvent fréquemment impliquer des fractures osseuses. Avant de prendre des mesures pour diagnostiquer et traiter une blessure au poignet à l'aide d'une attelle de poignet, vous devez consulter d'urgence un professionnel de la santé qualifié. Suivez les conseils de ce professionnel. S'il n'y a pas de fracture du poignet, ou si vous souffrez d'une blessure au poignet liée à une surutilisation de la crosse, vous devriez envisager d'utiliser une attelle de poignet pour favoriser votre rétablissement.

Un joueur de crosse peut avoir subi une entorse du poignet ou une autre blessure dans le passé. Cela peut résulter d'un incident n'impliquant pas la crosse. Si c'est le cas, il ou elle peut être préoccupé(e) par la nécessité de fournir un soutien supplémentaire au poignet lorsqu'il ou elle joue à la crosse afin d'éviter une nouvelle blessure. Il s'agit d'un autre scénario typique dans lequel une orthèse de poignet peut être utile à un joueur de crosse.

Attelles de poignet suggérées

Lacrosse Injuries – Treatment, Management & Prevention

A lacrosse player in action

Lacrosse is among the fastest growing high school sports  in North America. However, lacrosse injuries are a constant factor in this contact sport, and some of these can be quite serious. The injuries most frequently associated with the sport include:

  • Contusions to the Head & Face, due to a blow from a lacrosse ball or from the equipment of another player;
  • Concussion, which (even though players wear helmets) is probably the most serious of the injuries a lacrosse player can experience. This too can be the result of a blow from the ball or another player’s equipment or from a fixture in the arena;
  • Ankle and Knee sprains, particularly involving the Anterior and Medial Cruciate Ligaments;
  • Shin splints, due to the extensive running required of lacrosse players;
  • Wrist fractures;
  • Hip flexor strain;
  • Low back pain.

Preventing Lacrosse Injuries

As with most sports or recreational activities, the risk of incurring many common lacrosse injuries can be reduced through proper training, preparation and technique. Off season conditioning to stay in shape and pre-season drills are important components of an injury prevention program. They should not be neglected.

Players should also be careful to wear the appropriate protective equipment, including helmets, arm and rib pads, athletic supporters with protective cups, throat and chest protectors and mouthguards.

If a player experiences a lacrosse related injury, however, he or she can wear a variety of supports to assist recovery. Additionally, players requiring additional support during competition or training for weak or previously injured joints will benefit from the application of a rigid strapping tape to the area requiring protection. Finally, kinesiology tape can be a valuable aid to promote recovery from sore muscles and repetitive stress injuries in general.

Use Adhesive Tape to Treat Lacrosse Injuries

Adhesive tape can provide stability and support to weak, unstable or previously injured knees or ankles. Although orthopedic supports can also achieve this, you can wear adhesive tape during training or practice without interfering with mobility or range of motion. Injuries such as knee or ankle sprains, or other soft tissue injuries (especially overuse injuries) are likely to be the most treatable using this approach. We would suggest that you treat acute injuries such as contusions using other approaches such as hot or cold compresses.

There are many types of adhesive tape suitable for lacrosse injuries in different circumstances. A light elastic tape like one of those shown below is useful for joints requiring only moderate support. It can also act as a supplementary support for joints that have already been taped with a zinc oxide adhesive tape like Renfrew Professional Trainers Tape. Finally, a heavy elastic tape such as Mueller Sports Medicine Stretch M tape can be used on joints requiring the most robust support.

For maximum mobility if you intend to wear the tape for matches or practice, a light elastic tape is the best choice for lacrosse activity. It will also conform best to highly contoured areas such as your knees or ankles.

If you plan to wear adhesive tape for lacrosse matches but also for your non lacrosse related activities, you should consider using a tape that is latex free and/or hypoallergenic. This type of tape will reduce the risk of medical reactions as a result of long term contact with your skin. The improved wearing comfort and freedom from worry will make it easier for you to continue wearing the tape for prolonged periods. This will in turn make for improved recovery prospects.

Suggested Adhesive Tape Products for Lacrosse Injuries

Elastic Adhesives

Non Elastic Adhesives

MTape – Retail Packaging

US$5.69
0out of 5
Mueller Sports Medicine MTape Athletic Tape is…

#188 Professional Trainers Tape

US$3.97
5.00out of 5
Renfrew #188 Professional Trainers Tape is made…

Rigid Athletic Tape – 15 Yd Roll

US$8.36
0out of 5
Our latex free and hypoallergenic DynaPro Rigid…

Porous Zinc Oxide Tape

US$2.85
0out of 5
DynaPro Porous Zinc Oxide Tape will secure…

750 Athletic Tape

US$3.45
0out of 5
Cramer Sports Medicine 750 Athletic Tape features…

Cohesive Tapes

PowerTape

US$1.45US$2.92
0out of 5
Andover PowerTape is used in combination with…

PowerFlex

US$1.17US$4.63
0out of 5
Andover PowerFlex – the ultimate performance bandage.…

SelfWrap Cohesive Bandage

US$1.69US$3.18
0out of 5
Choose DynaPro SelfWrap 5yd and 6 yd…

Cohesive Spatting Tape

US$6.78
0out of 5
Use Mueller Sports Medicine Cohesive Spatting Tape…

TapeWrap Premium

US$1.47US$76.33
0out of 5
Mueller Sports Medicine TapeWrap® Premium is a…

How Athletic Supporters Can help Treat Lacrosse Injuries

Athletic supporters are invaluable accessories for protection from injuries to the pelvic area, especially when you use one with a protective cup. The cup can come with the supporter or the supporter can simply have a pouch for holding one. Lacrosse balls can travel at speeds of over 100 mph and the result of a blow to the pelvic area can be extremely painful and debilitating. In some cases, the consequences of the resulting injuries can be long term or permanent. They can certainly remove you from the remainder of the game and even from future games also. To avoid this eventuality, it is advisable to invest in pelvic protection such as an athletic supporter for lacrosse games or practice. 

The athletic supporter you use for lacrosse games should have a pouch to accommodate the protective cup. It should also have 2 elastic bands that go around your legs. If you don’t like the feeling of wearing an athletic supporter to hold the cup, you can consider wearing a pair of compression shorts instead. 

Choosing A Protective Cup

To use the protective cup, you simply insert it into the athletic supporter worn for lacrosse. For maximum protection, it’s important to choose the correct cup size. If the cup is too small, it could leave part of your pelvic area exposed to a blow from the ball. On the other hand, it it’s too large, the cup will be uncomfortable and could restrict your movement during the game. You can usually determine the appropriate cup size from your waist size measurement. 4 typical cup size classifications are pee wee, youth, teen and adult. An adult with a small build can sometimes feel more comfortable with a teen cup than with the adult version. Wearing a properly sized cup inside your athletic supporter for lacrosse games or practice is an extremely worthwhile investment in terms of the pain and expense it can save you.

Suggested Athletic Supporters for Treatment of Lacrosse Injuries

Performance Boxer w/FlexCup

US$31.71
0out of 5
McDavid’s Performance Boxer w/FlexCup allies innovative hDc™…

Flex Shield w/Supporter

US$23.82
0out of 5
The The Mueller Sports Medicine Flex Shield…

Athletic Supporter

US$16.56
0out of 5
The Mueller Sports Medicine Athletic Supporter offers…

How A Back Brace Can Be Useful in Treating A Lacrosse Injury

Back braces will help to mitigate back pain frequently experienced by athletes in the sport. In lacrosse, low back pain is usually an overuse injury that results from prolonged running during a game and the rotation of the lumbar spine. It can also be the result of collisions between players. Choosing the correct back brace for low back pain is essential to achieving favourable results.

As with other types of brace, the greater the time that you spend wearing it, the better are your chances of a compete recovery. In particular, if you can find a back brace that you can wear while playing lacrosse, it will help to relieve pressure on your spine at a time when you need it most. So a low profile back brace that can easily fit under your lacrosse uniform is a good choice.

Another factor to consider in choosing a good back brace for playing lacrosse is breathability. A brace made of breathable material will wick perspiration and other moisture away from your body. You will feel cool, dry and comfortable underneath and be able to concentrate on your lacrosse game. 

Some back braces use technology that help them to adhere more tightly to your skin as a reaction to perspiration r other moisture. A back brace with this feature will stay in its intended position even while you are playing lacrosse and lunging, jumping and sprinting.  It will continue to target the injured area and you will have greater pain relief as a result.The Bio Skin Back Skin with its SkinLok technology is a good example of this type of brace.

Suggested Back Braces

Back Skin with Lumbar Pad

US$63.50US$72.23
0out of 5
The Bio Skin Back Skin – Standard…

Adjustable Back Brace with Lumbar Pad

US$47.66US$85.12
0out of 5
The Mueller Sports Medicine Adjustable Back Brace…

X-Tremus Back Support

US$119.91US$124.49
0out of 5
The LP X-Tremus Back Support features an…

Back Brace, White

US$68.34
0out of 5
The Mueller Sports Medicine Back Brace, White…

Why You Should Use Calf, Thigh & Shin Supports to Treat Lacrosse Injuries

Calf/Thigh/Shin supports can serve many purposes for lacrosse players. However,  shin supports will be especially useful in treating the pain and discomfort of shin splints. This condition results from the extensive running that lacrosse players have to do during a game. This running causes the tibialis posterior muscle to separate from the back of the shin bone. When this happens more rapidly than the body can repair itself, shin splints develop. This is a very painful condition in and of itself but if you ignore it, it can lead to even more serious injuries, such as a stress fracture or even possibly a complete fracture. 

When looking for shin supports to treat lacrosse related injuries, you should try to find one that provides compression at or near medical grade levels. The Bio Skin Shin Splints are especially good in this area and should be considered.  Compression will promote blood flow to the problem area. This fresh blood brings oxygen and other nutrients, both of which will improve the rate of progress towards complete recovery.

Another feature that contributes to making a good shin support for a lacrosse player is breathability. This ensures that your perspiration will not accumulate under the support and create discomfort. Instead, it will migrate through the support and evaporate on the outside, so you will remain dry and comfortable. You will find it easier to wear this type of shin support for longer periods, which will improve your progress towards recovery.

A good shin support will also be sufficiently low profile that you can wear it while playing lacrosse without it interfering with your mobility or other aspects of your play.

Suggested Calf, Thigh & Shin Supports

Compression Shin Splint

US$57.18
5.00out of 5
The BioSkin Compression Shin Splint provides unsurpassed…

Calf Skin

US$37.03
0out of 5
The Bio Skin Calf Skin compresses injured…

Thigh Skin

US$41.13
0out of 5
The Bio Skin Thigh Skin compresses your…

Thigh Support

US$11.52
0out of 5
The LP Thigh Support supplies comfortable compression…

How You Can Use Hip/Groin Supports to Treat Your Lacrosse Injuries

Lacrosse is a fast moving sport that demands frequent changes of direction and speed from its players. These manoeuvres place great demands on the players’ hip and groin muscles. Injures like groin strains or hip flexor strains can happen and, when they do, the only way to recover from them is to allow the damaged structures to rest and heal. Hip & groin supports worn by lacrosse players will stabilize the muscles, tendons and ligaments in those areas and promote the healing process.

Hip flexor strains are particularly common in the sport of lacrosse.This is an overuse injury that can be the result of the extensive running and sometimes awkward pivoting that is integral to playing lacrosse. Groin strains are another category of injury that can result from the frequent running, stopping, twisting and turning that is such an integral part of the sport of lacrosse. There are other injuries in the same or adjacent areas that can affect lacrosse players, but hip flexor and groin strains are among the most common. Both these types of injuries can be treated by the injured lacrosse player wearing hip or groin supports that can take the pressure off the injured ligaments and muscles and allow them to rest.

The two primary categories of support available to lacrosse players to treat hip and groin injuries are compression shorts and groin wraps. Compression shorts are wearable during a lacrosse game and so are capable of providing support at the time when it is perhaps most needed. However, groin wraps are capable of providing more targeted compression to specific areas. Another reason to use compression shorts during lacrosse games lies in their ability to accommodate a protective cup covering the groin area.

Suggested Hip/Groin Supports

Groin Wrap

US$17.80US$24.20
0out of 5
The Bio Skin Groin Wrap is made…

Kinesiology Tape & Lacrosse Injuries

A lacrosse game requires extensive running and changes in speed as well as frequent twists and turns to keep up with the flow of the game. Over time, these movements can lead to repetitive stress injuries among even the fittest of players. Lacrosse players can experience a number of acute injuries such as ankle & knee sprains and hip flexor strains. They can also experience overuse injuries  that can lead to back pain problems. The proper use of k tape by lacrosse players can help players recover more quickly from their injuries.  Kinesiology tape will help to lift the skin over injured muscles and ligaments and allow blood and lymphatic fluids to flow through the area more readily.

Probably the main advantage of a lacrosse player wearing kinesiology tape to treat his or her injuries lies in the fact that this type of tape is fundamentally different than traditional adhesive tape. Traditional tape aims to stabilize muscles and joints to allow them to rest. This may in certain cases cause restrictions in movement, range of motion, etc. Kinesiology tape, on the other hand, relies on your joints continuing to move through a full and natural range of motion. It utilizes these movements to perform the lifting action discussed above that is such an integral part of its healing effect.

How To Use Kinesiology Tape

To get the most benefit from using kinesiology tape to treat your lacrosse related injuries, here are a few points to remember:

  • You should thoroughly clean and dry the area to which you intend to apply the tape. This will help it to gain the required degree of adhesion to your skin.
  • Make sure there are no oils or creams on the area of skin to which you will apply the tape.
  • Apply the kinesiology tape about an hour before your the start of your lacrosse game or practice. This too will help the tape to get the required degree of adhesion.

Kinesiology Tape Suggestions

Tex Classic

US$9.60
0out of 5
Kinesio Tex Classic successfully treats a variety…

Kinesiology Tape – 5m Continuous Roll

US$11.04US$11.13
0out of 5
Mueller Sports Medicine Kinesiology Tape – 5m…

Kinesiology Tape – I-Strip Roll

US$13.24
0out of 5
The Mueller Sports Medicine Kinesiology Tape -…

Pre-Cut Application

US$6.15
0out of 5
Use Kinesio Pre-Cut Application tapes to relieve…

Kinesiology RestoreTape

US$8.04US$43.26
0out of 5
Use DynaPro Kinesiology RestoreTape for relief from…

Kinesiology Tape – 30m Continuous Roll

US$68.80
0out of 5
The Mueller Sports Medicine Kinesiology Tape -…

Use a Knee Brace To Help With Lacrosse Injuries

For a lacrosse player, a knee brace canl help to mitigate the symptoms of knee injuries such as medial collateral or anterior cruciate ligament (acl) tears or sprains. These injuries are common experiences in lacrosse due to the fast moving nature of the sport and the sharp changes in running speed and direction it demands of the players. The knee instability that can result from MCL or ACL tears can threaten a player’s career if he does not properly attend to them. A major component of the treatment strategy is rest for the damaged ligaments. Wearing a properly designed knee brace is a great way to reduce the pressure on these ligaments and allow them a chance to recover.

Choosing A Knee Support

For maximum effect, the knee brace chosen by a lacrosse player with ACL/MCL injuries should be wearable for as much of the day as possible. If the player can wear it during lacrosse games or practice, it will then be providing knee support when it is most needed. A knee brace wearable for lacrosse will need to be a low profile brace (light and thin) that will interfere as little as possible with the player’s movement and range of motion of the joint.

A breathable knee brace is also a good choice for a lacrosse player. The athletically rigorous nature of the sport means that he or she is likely to perspire heavily while playing. When this happens, the knee brace should ideally allow the perspiration to migrate away from the player’s skin and leave him or her cool and dry underneath. 

Another desirable feature of a knee support for a lacrosse player would be some sort of anti microbial or anti bacterial protection. This will allow the player to use the brace over a prolonged period without having to discard it due to unpleasant odors or unsightly stains.

Some Knee Braces To Consider

Wrist Braces for Lacrosse Injuries

Hand and wrist injuries have become a growing problem in the sport of lacrosse. The scenarios giving rise to these injuries include a blow from the stick of an opposing player. A second possible scenario involves an attempt to break a fall which leads to the wrist being bent back at an awkward angle. Yet another scenario involves a direct blow from the ball to the tip of the goalkeeper’s thumb. These incidents may cause acute injuries such as bone fractures  that are usually not treatable using a wrist brace. However, some of the resulting wrist problems may be purely soft tissue  injuries. Recovery from these injuries usually requires a rest period for the damaged soft tissues of the hand or wrist. In these cases, wearing a wrist brace may be a part of the treatment of a lacrosse player for injuries to the hand or wrist.

As we have noted above, lacrosse related wrist injuries can be very serious and can frequently involve bone fractures. Before taking any steps to self diagnose and treat a wrist injury using a wrist brace, you should seek urgent medical attention from a qualified medial professional. Follow the advice you receive from that professional. If there is no wrist fracture, or if you have a lacrosse related overuse wrist injury, you should consider using a wrist brace to promote recovery.

A lacrosse player may have experienced a wrist sprain or other injury in the past. This may be a result of an incident not involving lacrosse. If so,  he or she may be concerned with providing additional support to the wrist while playing lacrosse in order to prevent re-injury. This is another typical scenario in which a wrist brace may be of value to a lacrosse player.

Suggested Wrist Braces